jump to navigation

Sexy and I Know It August 27, 2012

Posted by Alex Sawit in Happenings at the Shop.
trackback

By Alex Sawit

27 August 2012

 

 

When I walk on by, girls be looking like, “Ohh, he fly!”
I pimp to the beat, walking on the street in my new lafreak, yeah.
This is how I roll, animal print pants outta control.
It’s RedFoo with the big afro and like Bruce Leroy I got the glow…

I’m sexy and I know it.

 

 

We have a new theme song at the wine shop, Cyrano friends.

Oh, yeah.

For well over a month now, we’ve been listening to our acoustic maestro, Nino Alejandro, singing this song every Friday night. For those not yet acquainted with him, Nino carries the Alejandro family’s musical pedigree (Hajji is his famed uncle, which makes Rachel Alejandro his cousin) and is, in the opinion of many, the best one man hard rock performer in town. I can personally attest that I’ve never heard anyone sing pitch-perfect renditions of anything from “Living on a Prayer” to “Highway to Hell” as awesomely as Nino has done at Cyrano on his acoustic nights.

But it’s the LMFAO song, “Sexy and I Know it,” that is now Nino’s unofficial calling card, owing to the fact that folks have been requesting it with increasing regularity at the wine shop. And then, for the first time last Friday, he sang it without the usual preamble of, “This is an LMFAO song.”

That’s when I knew we had a new theme song.

Yes, I know. This is the same dance hit that has been played over and over in clubs from Miami to L.A. and is even reviled by some for having perhaps the most ridiculous music video of the 21st century. Even the newest M&M’s “spokescandy” Ms. Brown, in her debut TV commercial at this year’s Super Bowl, was scandalized by the song.

Seriously, though, Nino does “Sexy and I Know It” like dynamite, because he doesn’t sing the original version.

 

He used this exact guitar model to perform “Sexy and I Know It” last Friday.

 

“The version I’m doing was actually arranged by Noah,” Nino explained to audiences when he first started singing it for his Friday acoustic nights at the shop. “The original song is by LMFAO, but this arrangement was made by Noah Guthrie.”

Noah Guthrie, by the way, is the amazing 18-year old kid from South Carolina who, in May of this year, uploaded his acoustic cover of “Sexy and I Know It” on YouTube. Within a few days, it went viral and the legend of Noah was born.

“I’ve secretly wanted to cover this song for a really long time,” Noah chuckles with adolescent gusto in his YouTube video. “I finally figured out how to arrange it and it’s a lot different from the original version of it.”

It’s a mind-blowing kind of different. To borrow a silly phrase coined once upon a time by a fancy-talking Pinoy sportscaster, this kid turned garbage into gold.

 

Combining a fresh yet lightly smoky voice with a catchy guitar riff, wonder kid
Noah Guthrie transformed a banal party song into an acoustic classic.

 

You can watch Noah’s YouTube video (click here) or download the audio recording (click here).

Or, better yet, just drop in on a Friday night and listen to Nino sing our new theme song, live, for all you sophisticated-minded Cyrano friends.

Remember, mind appeal is the new sexy…and you know it.

 

 

 

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

